The Dark Side of a ‘Healer’

Imagine this.  Your life has been disrupted.  You found out you have a disease.  Or there was a death in the family.  A divorce.  Childhood abuse is coming forward as an adult.  And you are looking for help.  You are vulnerable and afraid.  You need someone who will help you work through these emotions, someone who has a strength that you have forgotten you possess; someone you can trust, and tell your fears to.  Where do you go?  Who do you seek?

This is the first time I have talked about an experience I had last summer on a public forum.  I have spoken to girlfriends, and some healer colleagues of mine about my experience, and now I want to share it with you.

On a trip to the grocery store, a man waved at me from his vehicle.  I gave a half wave, not recognizing who he was and parked my vehicle.  As I walked into the store, he pulled up beside me, and asked if I was married.  I replied yes, and he said, yah, I knew it.  Can you give me a moment of your time.  I have some things from Spirit to share with you.

Being a healer, a psychic, I was kind of excited.  I was going to have my own little ‘Theresa Caputo’ moment, a reading from a perfect stranger.  I followed him to his car.  He was a good looking man~~ dressed in white spiritual garb (flowing clothes) with a rose quartz around his neck.  More crystals hung from his sun visor, and he had a guitar in his front seat.  He told me he was on his way back home after doing a spiritual retreat.

Claiming that he didn’t have enough room in his own vehicle, he asked if we could move to my vehicle so he could give me a reading.  A few alarms went off in my head, but I thought what could possibly go wrong?  He is a spiritual man, as I am a spiritual woman.

When we got into my vehicle, he started telling me some personal stuff about my relationship with my husband.  He was quite accurate, and I found myself relaxing, thinking ‘this is good’.  He then brought up my trust issues.   They stem from childhood sexual abuse, and reoccurring patterns that have come into adulthood.

He claimed that the only way for me to trust, would be to touch him in the most intimate place a man has.  I paused for a second and then put my hand on his heart chakra.  This annoyed him, and he said again, ‘If you want to learn to trust, you MUST touch me in the most intimate place a man has’.  He pointed to his crotch.  I told him ‘No’.  After some more pressure, and my continually saying ‘No’, he asked me ‘Why I didn’t want to move forward through my trust issues’.

I told him if my Guides wanted me to learn my lesson, they would find another way to bring the lesson forward to me.  And then asked him to get out of the vehicle.  He slammed his fist into the dashboard and got out.

I breathed a sigh of relief… I was safe, and the situation could have been worst than what it was.

Why am I bringing this up?

Because this could have been you.  Or anyone, really.  And you may not have been strong enough to say no.  I know I wasn’t strong enough to walk away when he first approached me.  And I know that I am not the first woman to fall prey to a ‘spiritual man’ claiming to be able to ‘heal’ through sexual measures.

This is the dark side of the healer.  The one who represents themselves as being able to help others, but only preys on their vulnerabilities.  The ones who tell you they will cure your cancer for X amount of dollars.  The ones who say that they have gifts that no one else does, and so you must perform XYZ with them, in order to be healed of all of your problems.

While healing energy treatments can play an important role in one’s self care, for physical, spiritual and emotional wellness, it is not the cure.  Healing comes from within, and a healer is only there to ‘facilitate the healing’, meaning the energy is flowing through them, into you (through hands-on energy transfer, on a fully clothed body).  Everyone has their own healing abilities within them, and therefore, none of us ‘need’ anyone to ‘heal’ us, regardless of what some may claim.

Just as there is a balance of light and dark in the skies, and within ourselves, so too, is there light and dark among the healing world.

A ‘true healer’ will never pressure you to go further than you want to go.  They want to help you, in a way that is comfortable to you.  They may give you suggestions on healing treatments to try, different ideas to think about, etc. BUT they will leave the ball in your court as to how much they are willing to do.  Yes, they will ask to be paid for their time, however, most will work with you if you can’t afford their services.  They may also suggest other healers in your area that would be able to help with your issues, to give you more choices.

A ‘dark healer’ will pressure you, even when you get uncomfortable.  They may ask for large sums of money to perform healing on you, that they claim, only they can do.  They may get angry or berate you if you choose not to go through with their services, or they may pressure you to believe they are the only choice.

If you are looking for a healer, for what ever you are going through, I ask you (perhaps beg you) to follow your heart and your intuition to guide you to the perfect fit for you; to find a healer who is compassionate, understanding and caring, and has your highest good at heart.

Until next time,

xoCatherine

For more information on the healing services that I provide, please visit my website at http://www.journeyhealers.com

Follow me on Facebook!  http://www.facebook.com/JourneyHealers7

IMG_8618
Catherine Graham is an intuitive, healer, and owner of Journey Healers. Catherine is also a mom of 7, and one granddaughter. She has been working with Spirit since 2004. Any comments or questions can be emailed to her at Catherine@journeyhealers.com

 

 

 

Published by

journeyhealers

I am a mom of 4, a stepmom to 3, and a Mimayo (celtic for grandma) to one. I am a mompreneur, running a business from my home, specializing in healing and intuitive guidance for others. My passions are my business, my family, music, chocolate, and 'real life issues'.....there's nothing I love more than talking about the deep stuff...the stuff that no one else wants to acknowledge. I am always on the lookout for the deeper spiritual meaning in all things~~ daily life, movies, music, books, what's happening in the world... and that's what I will be writing about. Welcome <3

Leave a Reply

