Breaking the Myths of Psychics and Healers

Psychics and healers.   The words bring forth many definitions, depending on your opinion and upbringing.  Some think ‘I want to know my future!’; some think ‘EVIL!’; and some think ‘FAKE!’.   What I have come to realize though, is that for many, we have been misinformed as a society about what a psychic and/or healer actually does.  Movies and tv shows only give a glimpse into the work of those who have chosen a path of this sort, and the general consensus of a poll in Canada by Reader’s Digest, claimed that psychics are the least trusted professions, beating out politicians and lawyers!

First, let’s talk about what each of these professions mean.

A psychic, known in mainstream media, is one who sees the future, and predicts what is going to happen.  However, the word psychic is actually derived from the Greek word, psykhikos, which means ‘Of the Soul, Spirit or Mind’.   To be psychic literally means to be ‘working from the Soul, or the Spirit’.

An intuitive, like a psychic, is also connected into the subtle energy fields, and uses this information that they are picking up on to deliver messages.

A medium is one who connects in with Spirit who has crossed over, and delivers messages to their loved ones.

A healer is one who has been trained in different energy medicines to alter the energetic fields of their client to promote whole health and wellness.

Someone in these professions may classify themselves as being an Intuitive Psychic Healer, or an Intuitive Medium, or any combination of the words.  It all depends on what feels right to each individual.  They know their gifts, and they know what they are able to do with them.

As an Intuitive Psychic Medium and Healer,

I want to shed some light on some of the most common myths and mistruths of my profession, and hopefully answer some questions you may have!

  1. PSYCHICS/HEALERS DO EVIL WORK
Quite the opposite is true actually.  Every psychic and healer I know of personally, is working with the intention of helping others heal the pains and hurts in their lives, connect them with those they are grieving or empower themselves to take a lead in their lives.
Of the psychics and healers I know, not one of them connects in with a dark energy, the Devil, or any other ‘voodoo’ type of energy.  In fact, when I talk to them, they talk about God, a Source Energy, a Love Energy.
Their intention is one of love, healing, compassion and understanding, exactly what all religions preach for us to live every day.
2.  PSYCHIC/HEALERS ARE ALWAYS ‘ON’.
Like the average citizen, psychics and healers are able to ‘walk away’ from their job, when they are needing to rest, or have time off.  No, we aren’t all like Theresa Caputo, walking up to strangers to deliver messages.  Many of us will protect and ground ourselves, when we are out in high traffic areas, as messages, and energy can be overwhelming for those of us who are sensitive to the subtle energies.  To be ‘on’ all of the time, would be exhausting!
That being said, for those of us who connect with Spirit who have crossed over, Spirit will, at times come forward to deliver a message, even when we are not sitting with their loved one.  In fact, I have been woken up from a dead sleep to write down a message from Spirit more than once.  I have had Spirit connect with me weeks prior to a client even booking an appointment.
3.  PSYCHICS/HEALERS SHOULD BE FREE AS IT’S A GIFT
Yes, we have a gift, from God, that allows us to connect into a subtle energy to bring forth messages.  Just as a doctor has a gift to diagnose and heal patients.  And a mechanic has a gift to look at vehicles and fix them.   The truth is, psychics and healers have families, homes, needs (food, water, shelter) and dreams, just like you and I do.  Just as you are paid to work, so should we.
Each psychic and healer determines how much they will be making per session.  Some of these are cheaper than others.  This doesn’t mean one is better than another.  Most likely it has to do with how much the psychic or healer values about the work that they do, and their own confidence in their abilities.
I have seen some who charge as little as $10/session and some who charge upwards of $1000/session.   This is where you as a sitter get to decide how much you are willing to pay to have a reading or healing session done.
And there are exceptions.  There have been times when I have been guided to give a reading at no cost to the client.  There have been times when I have guided to do the reading or session at a lower price.
All in all though, a psychic or healer deserves to be paid, just as much as the mailman, the doctor, or any other profession.
4.  A REAL PSYCHIC/HEALER HAS HAD THE GIFT SINCE BIRTH
You hear about these phenomenon often~~ children who are born with a gift of seeing or knowing.  And this is true for many.  Even more true though, are the people who realize their gifts later in life, through trial and error, quite often after they experience a life changing moment (death of a loved one, car accident, divorce, etc) and begin to search for deeper answers.
The truth is, we all have the ability to be a psychic or a healer.  Just as we all have the ability to be a scientist, a musician, or an athlete.  It is whether we choose to allow ourselves to strengthen these aspects of ourselves or not.
I have one child who was born with a gift of seeing~~ he was able to tell me what people were doing across town (and this was confirmed); able to tell me about our past lives together (also confirmed) and able to see a young man who had crossed over, and describe him to a ‘T’.  When he was 8, he turned this off, and it hasn’t been turned on again since.
I remember moments when I was a child where I had gut feelings about situations only to have them come true.  Was this a psychic premonition?  Was it my spirit guides warning me?  I’m not sure to this day, however, now, after years of developing my gifts, I am able to tell the differences between the two.
5.  OUR LIVES ARE PERFECT
This one is probably the farthest from the truth.  I often have people say, well why don’t you just play the lottery?  Or, shouldn’t you have picked up on that situation, after all you are psychic.
Yes, I am psychic, but it doesn’t mean I’ve got my shit together.  In fact, I go and see other psychics to have readings done on me (especially when my own readings on myself are not giving me the answers that I want! )
As psychics and healers, we have often chosen a tougher path, with more extreme relationships, life experiences, than the average person, to bring ourselves a greater understanding of the human experience.
This means we have lost those who are close to us, we have gone through rough break ups, we have had falling outs with family members, have had diseases, have gone bankrupt, have lost jobs, lost houses, and yet, we are still filled with hope and love and understanding.
We know that we have lessons to go through, and that by going through those lessons, we are able to help others.  By helping ourselves, and working on our own spiritual journey, we are able to connect in deeper, and stronger with our clients and with the spirit world.
The next time you go for a reading, or a healing session, remember, that your psychic/healer/medium/intuitive, is just another person, learning to grow their gifts, to live their passion, and ultimately, to help you on your journey to becoming the best you you can be.
Until next time,
xoCatherine
IMG_8618
Catherine Graham is an intuitive, healer, and owner of Journey Healers. Catherine is also a mom of 7, and one granddaughter. She has been working with Spirit since 2004. Any comments or questions can be emailed to her at Catherine@journeyhealers.com

 

Published by

journeyhealers

I am a mom of 4, a stepmom to 3, and a Mimayo (celtic for grandma) to one. I am a mompreneur, running a business from my home, specializing in healing and intuitive guidance for others. My passions are my business, my family, music, chocolate, and 'real life issues'.....there's nothing I love more than talking about the deep stuff...the stuff that no one else wants to acknowledge. I am always on the lookout for the deeper spiritual meaning in all things~~ daily life, movies, music, books, what's happening in the world... and that's what I will be writing about. Welcome <3

Leave a Reply

